1776 Cast Announcement

Wheaton Drama, Inc. (WDI) has cast its 2010-2011 season finale, 1776.

This completely compelling and Tony® Award winning look at American history vibrantly recaps the time leading up to the signing of the Declaration of Independence. The Founding Fathers’ struggle for agreement thrills with drama, comedy, and song as the Continental Congress debate the merits of independence from Great Britain.

The 1776 cast is: Keith Aarseth (Charles Thomson); Dave Amato (Dr. Josiah Bartlett); Garrett Ard (Edward Rutledge); Jean Austin (Abigail Adams); Stan Austin (Robert Livingston); Kimberly Baker (Martha Jefferson); Joe Billquist (Joseph Hewes); Steve Blount (George Read); Jack Dentinger (Leather Apron); Zach Gibson (Samuel Chase); Jay Goldberg (Dr. Lyman Hall); Craig Gustafson (Lewis Morris); Christian Johnson (Courier); Andy Kanturek (Roger Sherman); Randall W. Knott (Thomas Jefferson); Tony Kortas (Rev. John Witherspoon); Peter Lemongelli (Richard Henry Lee); Dave Lichty (Stephen Hopkins); Joe Maier (Caesar Rodney); Daniel Baggott-Miller (Dr. Benjamin Franklin); R.J. Ogren (McNair); Sean Ogren (John Adams); Brent Richardson (John Hancock); Jaime Sandoval (James Wilson); Caleb Sjogren (John Dickinson); Lars Timpa (Col. Thomas McKean).

Charles A. Berglund is directing, assisted by production manager Jo-Ann Ledger. William Rush is the musical director and Harmony Barry is the choreographer. Bruce Ebner is the stage manager.

Additional production staff are: Tracy Adams (hair and make-up); Ben Aylesworth (set construction); Ken Beach (production photographer); Steve Blount and Amy Johnson (properties); Traci A.Cidlik (graphic design); Mary Beth deBolt (Starboard design); Melissa Heischberg (costumer and website); Jo-Ann Ledger (publicity); Steven Merkel (sound design and publicity photography); Rebecca Poole (tickets); Kate Quan (programme); Penny Salvesen (set design); Steve Schroeder (front of house); Katy Smith (set decoration); Debbie Trueblood (assistant stage manager); Jim Van De Velde (lighting design).

The following assisted at auditions and callbacks: Ben Aylesworth, Bruce Ebner, Amy Johnson, Julie Kanturek (accompanist), and Steven Merkel.

1776 performances are May 27 through June 19. Shows are Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays at 8pm and Sundays at 3pm. Tickets are $18 for Thursdays; $21 for Fridays – Sundays.

1776 has book by Peter Stone, music and lyrics by Sherman Edwards, and is based on a concept by Sherman Edwards. 1776 is presented by special arrangement with Music Theatre International.

At play since 1931, Wheaton Drama’s performances are staged at Playhouse 111, 111 N. Hale Street in downtown Wheaton. For tickets and information, please visit https://wheatondrama.org or call 630-260-1820.